More spells if more players?

Discussion and questions about the latest version of Chaos Reborn. Not for bugs, but for comments about the game play.
Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:28 pm

• Maybe this is whining :-) I just found a 4-player game a bit odd because I ran out of spells early on while killing one player and fighting my way out again, and then only had half strength left to do anything for most of the game. Am I right in thinking that the number of spells stays the same no matter how many players? If so here's my ill-informed punt for more spells when more players.

I mean fair enough, manage your resources carefully and all that... I'm just thinking that in previous Chaos variants it was possible to increase the number of spells, or to e.g. get an extra random spell every few turns, or more spells for killing a wizard, which helped address this kind of issue.

Anyway, great to see this game out, I've been playing it and its relatives since 1990 :-)
    Anarchobadger

Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:31 pm

• Tis a good point. I often find in 4 player matches I have to hold back more and hope the other wizards expend their strength on each other so I have enough spells left to see me to the end. It makes sense that we should have a couple more spells for 3 or 4 player matches to compensate for the additional enemies.
    Tess
    GOD

Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:50 pm

• I think it's not so much a matter of number of players as number of turns. A match with 25 turns could use more spells than a match with 15 turns.
    Who's that riding across the plain?
    Who's lost count of the foes he's slain?
    Who's the man who's plumb insane?
    Kahangriel! Kahangriel! Kahangriel!
    Kahangriel
    GOD

Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:56 pm

• The more players in a match... the more likely the game will go to the end... the less burning cards remains a viable tactic except in extremis.

One Theme to rule them all, One Theme to find them, One Theme to bring them all and in the Chaos bind them.