Let's talk about Mega Bolt.

Discussion and questions about the latest version of Chaos Reborn. Not for bugs, but for comments about the game play.
Hapless

Let's talk about Mega Bolt.

Post by Hapless » Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:38 pm

I'm pretty new to Chaos - I began playing the EA version of Reborn on Steam about a week ago, and hadn't heard of its predecessor until just recently. However, I'm not a stranger to tactical turn-based combat. Divinity OS and Shadowrun: Dragonfall (as well as a smattering of other games on various platforms) are a few games that I've poured quite a bit of time and effort into understanding. I also consider myself an aficionado of chess, despite the fact that I haven't played as much lately.

Those things said, I must certainly be considered a newcomer to this particular community/scene, and as such may not yet be able to offer an opinion that reflects a deep understanding of this game and its combat mechanics.

Regardless, let's get to the point: I think Mega Bolt needs to be rebalanced. In my opinion, it's the only mega spell that's really worth the mana investment, and in the early game it's absolutely worth throwing 5 cards at after picking up a mana sprite. I think that the potential for a 71% chance to win the game on turn 2-3 is overpowered, and that the threat of a 4 hex range kill is a bit unfair to have to play around.

Here's what I'd propose: rebalance the spell to have a greater hit chance on creatures and a lower chance on players. I think something like 90% base creature hit chance/45-50% base player hit chance makes sense. It could also be modified to lose some effectiveness with range: something along the lines of a 70% hit chance at 1-3 hex range, and 45%-55% at its max range. This way there's still risk involved letting a player with one of the 3 Mega Bolt staffs within range, but the spell's most overpowered aspects are somewhat lessened.

I'm just throwing ideas around. Let me know what you guys think.